The Young Scientist Award has been proposed by Alemdar Hasanov during his term as Chair of biennial conferences “Inverse Problems: Modeling and Simulation” (since 2002), in order to promote young scientists. The Young Scientist Award is awarded to a young scientist who has done outstanding research in inverse problems and applications. The award has been established of the during the 4th International Conference “Inverse Problems: Modeling and Simulation” in May 2008.

One year after the establishment of the Eurasian Association on Inverse Problems (EAIP), in 2015, the award hes been renamed as the EAIP Young Scientist Award.

EAIP Young Scientist Award(s) will be presented to young scientists of ages below 40 at the time of the biennial conference IPMS, with particular merits in inverse problems analysis and its applications. Candidates for the awards may be nominated by their organizations as well as may apply themselves. Nomination materials (Cover Letter and CV including a complete list of publications) should be submitted via email to the Conference Secretariat (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) with a Cc to Otmar Scherzer (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). The deadline for submission of nominations for Young Scientist Award – two month before the date of each IPMS conference.

The awardees will be selected by the Award Committee and awards will only be given to participants. The award will be presented during the Opening Ceremony of the conference.

EAIP 2020 Young Scientist Award Committee Members 
Alemdar  Hasanov Hasanoğlu, Turkey
Roman Novikov, France
Otmar Scherzer, Austria (Chair)
Cristiana Sebu, Malta
Marian Slodicka, Belgium

2008 Awardees
Dr. Maria Rapun, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Dr. Arzu Erdem, Kocaeli University, Turkey
Dr. Maksim Shishlenin, Sobolev Inst. of Mathematics, Russia

2010 Awardee
Dr. Tomas Johansson, University of Birmingham, UK

2014 Awardees
Dr. Jens Flemming, TU Chemnitz, Germany
Dr. Mikhail Isaev, CMAP Ecole Polytechnique, France

2016 Awardees
Dr. Karel Van Bockstal, Ghent University, Belgium
Dr. Alexandre Jollivet, Lille 1 University, France

Young Sci.Award Ceremony IPMS 2016 1


2018 Awardees
Dr. Giovanni S. Alberti, University of Genoa, Italy
Dr. Bernadette Hahn, University of Würzburg, Germany
Dr. Andrei Shurup, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia

youngsci 1

youngsci 2



More in this category: « EAIP AWARD POSTER OF IPMS 2018 »