The Young Scientist Award was proposed by Prof. Alemdar Hasanov Hasanoglu during his term as Chair of biennial conferences “Inverse Problems: Modeling and Simulation” (since 2002), in order to promote young scientists. The award was established during the 4th International Conference “Inverse Problems: Modeling and Simulation” in May 2008 and has been awarded since to young scientists who have done outstanding research in inverse problems and applications.

After the establishment of the Eurasian Association on Inverse Problems (EAIP) in 2015, the award was renamed to the EAIP Young Scientist Award.

EAIP Young Scientist Award (s) is presented to young scientists under the age of 40 at the time of the IPMS conference, with particular merits in inverse problems analysis and its applications. Candidates for the award may be nominated by their organizations, as well as may apply themselves. Nomination materials (Cover Letter and CV including a complete list of publications) should be submitted via email to the Conference Secretariat (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) with a CC to Otmar Scherzer (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). Application deadline for nominations is three months before the date of each IPMS conference.

The awardees are selected by the EAIP Young Scientist Award Committee. The award(s) is given during the Opening Ceremony of the IPMS conference and to participants of the conference only.

2020 - 2022 Awardees


Dr. Peter Elbau

Faculty of Mathematics
University of Vienna, Austria


Dr. Joonas Ilmavirta

Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Jyväskylä, Finland


Dr. Simon Hubmer

RICAM, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria

2018 Awardees
Dr. Giovanni S. Alberti, University of Genoa, Italy
Dr. Bernadette Hahn, University of Würzburg, Germany
Dr. Andrei Shurup, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia

youngsci 1  youngsci 2

2016 Awardees
Dr. Karel Van Bockstal, Ghent University, Belgium
Dr. Alexandre Jollivet, Lille 1 University, France

Young Sci.Award Ceremony IPMS 2016 1

2014 Awardees
Dr. Jens Flemming, TU Chemnitz, Germany
Dr. Mikhail Isaev, CMAP Ecole Polytechnique, France

2010 Awardee
Dr. Tomas Johansson, University of Birmingham, UK

2008 Awardees
Dr. Maria Rapun, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Dr. Arzu Erdem, Kocaeli University, Turkey
Dr. Maksim Shishlenin, Sobolev Inst. of Mathematics, Russia


More in this category: « EAIP AWARD POSTER OF IPMS 2020 »


Prof. Dr. Liliana Borcea

University of Michigan, USA

Inverse Scattering in Random Media, Electro-Magnetic Inverse Problems, Effective Properties of Composite Materials, Transport in High Contrast, Heterogeneous Media

Prof. Dr. Bernd Hofmann

Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany

Regularization of Inverse and Ill-Posed Problems

Prof. Dr. John C Schotland

Yale University, USA

Inverse Problems with Applications to Imaging, Scattering Theory, Waves in Random Media, Nano-Scale Optics, Coherence Theory and Quantum Optics

Prof. Dr. Erkki Somersalo

Case Western Reserve University, USA

Computational and Statistical Inverse Problems, Probabilistic Methods for Uncertainty Quantification, Modeling of Complex Systems, Biomedical applications

Prof. Dr. Gunther Uhlmann

University of Washington, USA

Inverse Problems and Imaging, Partial Differential Equations, Microlocal Analysis, Scattering Theory

Prof. Dr. Jun Zou

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR

Numerical Solutions of Electromagnetic Maxwell Systems and Interface Problems, Inverse and Ill-Posed Problems, Preconditioned and Domain Decomposition Methods